Hi everyone… I promised I’d post this book review yesterday, but I’m still battling this crazy sinus infection, I’ve had for almost a month. It has been a drag, but I’m glad I still felt up to reading. 🙂 So today, we are going to look at the newest book that just hit stores today– Uncommon-The Pursuing a life of passion and purpose by Carey Scott.

We meet Carey Scott a young woman, who has been hit with almost everything. She was told her has ovarian cancer, but by God’s grace and gentle hand was healed by a miracle the cancer was gone. This made her think about how it is to be uncommon and write this awesome book.

Through out the book we take a look at several uncommon virtues and Biblical women who were not the norm during their time or even today. Carey wants us to see that it is important to stand fast in your feelings and moral rights when all about you are losing their minds. That reminds me of the poem If by Rudyard Kipling. (“If you can keep your head, when all about you are losing theirs and blaming it on you; If you can trust yourself when all men doubt you, and make allowance for their doubting too….”  That’s all I remember. lol)

She mentions how people today are scared to speak up for their opinion. The world does want you to shush today. She mentions the last Presidential election and how people are still fighting. Does this have to continue? No, we must strive to be uncommon and voice our opinion and also listen to others reasonably.  Being Uncommon is tough stuff, but in the end God will reward you. Be loud and proud and show off your God colors. 🙂

I wasn’t sure what to think about this book when I first received it from the great Barbour Publishers. I thought “okay, what’s this book going to tell me?” Instead this was a good application book and I even felt sad sometimes, because how true the stuff was being said. There were a lot of truths mentioned. It’s a very moving book and every though provoking.

I really think this book would be great for a Bible study in a church. It’s a lot to cover, but I think it would be well worth it.

Here’s a few places to find the book:

Barnes and Noble: $12.09

Walmart: $9.66

Here are some other sites to learn more about this book and more about Carey Scott.

careyscott.org/uncommon/ 

Again, I thank Barbour Publishers for sending this great book for my honest opinion.

I thank you for stopping by today and reading this review. I appreciate it. If you like what you see, please follow my page via email or wordpress follow button.  You aren’t obligated to follow, but any of the follows I get help me to get the word out on these awesome books.

Remember to take a look at the other books I’ve read and stop by again soon, for another review. See you all very soon.

Happy Summer, Happy Reading… 🙂

 

 

Leave a Reply

