What Momma Left Behind

Oh boy! I’m so excited to share with you the book I just finished this afternoon. What Momma Left Behind by Cindy K. Sproles was a different kind of novel. It wasn’t romance, but more historical.

Set during the flu pandemic of 1877, spirited Worie Dressar finds herself burying her mother, after she commits suicide. Confused and bewildered, Worie is left to fend for herself against her two brothers- Justice, who is always drunk, and Calvin, who has a plain mean streak.

When Worie discovers her mother didn’t just leave behind her children, but several orphans in the process, Worie has some growing up to do. With help of her pastor friend, Pastor Jess, and her free-from-slavery friends, Ely and Bess, she has enough to fend off her evil brother Calvin, who is after a jar with paper and some red stones. Worie must come to grips with reality and lean more on God than herself. She must learn to be beyond self-fishness and learn to rely and care about others.

I really enjoyed this book. At first, it was hard to get into the book , as it was written in Appalachian slang and it made it difficult to read. However, as I read it more everyday the book became more interesting. I really loved the message of family is what you make it and you don’t need to be blood or the same color to be family. 🙂 I recommend this to any one that is interested in something other than the typical love story novel. This was a great book and I want to thank Revell publishing and the author for giving me the opportunity to give my honest review to such a great book. I was not under any obligation to post a review, I just enjoy sharing books.

Here are some locations where you can find this awesome book.

Amazon: Kindle $9.99; $15.99 Paperback

Walmart: $15.19

Christianbook: $11.99 paperback; $9.99 ebook

Have a great weekend. Keep cool! Happy Summer everyone! We made it!

Leave a comment